Search
Browse Categories


Like us on Facebook!
PayPal Logo

B&B Tobacconists Bulk: BECK'S OL' LIMEY BASTARD

Product Reviews

(35 Ratings, 22 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
A Wonderful Smokey Blend
Jack (United States) 11/22/2018 9:43 PM
I very very pleasant English blend. Smooth and smokey with a hint of sweetness. Perfect for a rainy day spent reading on the front porch sheltered from the heavy drops hitting the roof. The only thing that isn't perfect with this blend is that I wish it had just a tad more Latakia. All in all a great blend and I will purchase again.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Beck's ol..........
Jeff S. (Hillsboro, OR) 8/14/2018 2:21 PM
IMHO, this blend is as mild as it gets!! MILD, SMOOTH, CONSISTENT from start to finish, cool burning, no bite, this is the ideal all day smoke, if you want MILD! I like a bit fuller smoke, but this is tasty!
ratingratingratingratingrating
From one Ol' Limey Bastard about another
John Ward (WAKEFIELD, West Yorkshire) 8/17/2014 3:47 PM
I was looking for something that could be my go to smoke and with this I think I may have found it, although I'm only 4 bowls in so far. An excellent full flavour but smooth, low maintenance smoke. Four stars because I haven't smoked enough variety to say it is the best out there but it is in my top three. Go on, buy it you now it makes sense.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Delightful blend for ready rubbed
Br. David West (Abbotsford, BC) 6/26/2014 1:27 AM
"This is it!" Second only to Lancer's Slices, which is a flake tobacco, this is now a favorite for me, in the top five of my Latakia rotation. Powerful yet smooth, strong and subtle flavors at the same time. If you're a fan of English and Latakia, definitely worth a try. A truly solid five great smoke!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love that Bastard
Kris T (Calgary, AB) 6/12/2014 1:50 PM
This blend just does it for me. while I find that it's at it's best smoked in the afternoon or evening it easily fills in as an all day smoke. If you like an English blend you can't go wrong with this one. Cheers!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Да!!!
Dmytro Yuhnovets (Kiev, ) 8/19/2013 7:27 PM
Отличный Табак, очень хорош!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
好像很厉害的样子
SiWei Zhu (Qin Huang Dao, He Bei) 8/6/2013 10:14 AM
这个草非常棒,抽了很厉害的样子
ratingratingratingratingrating
好像很厉害的样子
SiWei Zhu (Qin Huang Dao, He Bei) 8/6/2013 10:14 AM
这个草非常棒,抽了很厉害的样子
ratingratingratingratingrating
As Good As They Say
Colin Maguire (Seattle, WA) 7/26/2013 6:14 PM
Every good thing being said about this blend is absolutely true. This is a real hero for me, as it came to save the day after smoking 1/3 of a bowl of that awful Crooner. This Limey Bastard rescued me from that terrible experience, and reminded me what a superlative tobacco is. Don't think twice - buy this. It is magnificent. An excellent smoke.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A REAL FIND
Don Brundage (TINY, ON) 5/17/2013 9:13 AM
Love this tobacco. A traditional flavour and very mild. The Latakia sneaks in beautifully and doesn't overwhelm. Definitely something that you can enjoy all day. Also appreciate your prompt service and shipping. I am making 4 Noggins my go to tobacconist.
ratingratingratingratingrating
WOW,WOW,WOW
JAMES LYALL (HUDDERSFIELD, WEST YORKSHIRE) 11/29/2012 1:23 PM
This as to be the tobacco find of the yr for me,the smell is Dunhill 965, but the taste is better, so much smoother, & creamier, i highly recommend this blend, and it will be in my rotation from now on 5+++++ from me.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A superior English blend
Alan Simpson (Toronto, ON) 6/11/2012 12:27 AM
Easy to light and keep lit, this is a delicious, full-bodied but smooth blend. Possibly the best bulk English tobacco I have had in over 40 years of pipe-smoking enjoyment. It's just as good in my expensive Nording as in my MM corncobs! Do yourself a favour—if you enjoy traditional Virginia-Latakia blends—and give it a try. You won't regret it! Abargainnat this price, too.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love it!
Frank Dickinson (Fairview Heights, IL) 12/10/2011 3:51 PM
All the hype about OLB is true. It is smooth - it changes throughout the bowl to bring in more of the Latakia. It lights well, smokes even better with no fuss or gurgle. I rated it 4 stars because, although I love it, I'm still completely addicted to McClellands Frog Morton as my go to baccy.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Believe the hype...
Jay (Far East) 6/16/2011 2:11 AM
This is an outstanding blend. It is very well balanced and an absolute pleasure to smoke. Not enough latakia to have any unpleasantness and the sweetness of the VAs really work. Perhaps the best blend I've tried to date. I will definitely be buying more of the OLB!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Ol Limey Bastard
Tim Potts (NC, NC) 1/22/2011 4:06 PM
Tried this blend for the first time a couple of weeks ago. I am hooked for sure. I can not compare it to the MM965 mentioned, as I never had it. I will be buying this blend much more in the future.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Simply Outstanding....
Chris Smith (Ottawa, ON) 1/14/2011 2:54 PM
I've been smoking cigars for years, and have recently made the transition to pipe. Purchased 4oz's of this english blend to try, and was immediately impressed. I've already placed an order for more. VERY good.
ratingratingratingratingrating
OLB
Jon Greene (Tulsa, OK) 4/22/2010 3:11 PM
I still consider myself a fairly new pipe smoker (about a year now) but I love O.L.B. Like some other have said, Squadron Leader was my go-to 'baccy. O.L.B. has replaced Squadron Leader hands down.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Superb Blend!!!
Louis Carbone (Middle Village, NY) 2/12/2010 2:06 PM
Just a quick note to tell you that the NY Pipe Club sampled this wonderful blend at our Feb. 2010 Monthly Meeting. O'l Limey Bastard was a huge hit with the members! We absolutely loved it! This is a fantastic blend give it a try. Lou, NY
ratingratingratingratingrating
This IS the quintessential English blend!!!
Alan Siegel (Stamford, CT) 1/29/2010 11:27 AM
For years, Squadron Leader was my got-to English blend. Not any more!!! This wonderfuliy smooth blend has enough nuanced flavors to keep you interested all day. The Latakia is not over powering, but adds just the right amount of smokiness. Try it!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Beck's Ol' Limey Bastard
john west (Valrico, FL) 7/17/2009 6:10 PM
A great medium english in my opinion. I recieved a sample with my order and was sad when I filled the last bowl. I highly recommend this one!
ratingratingratingratingrating
a little disappointed
Doc Alamo (Katy, TX) 7/11/2009 6:43 PM
This one was a little too harsh for me. I was so excited to try this out, especially with all the great comments on the Smokers Forum. It smells absolutely wonderful, a very full body English aroma. It smokes fine, not wet at all, but after about 4 bowls I decided I will not be buying this one. For me it is way to harsh. I smoked it slowly, but it was still too harsh. Plus, it left a pretty bad taste after all was said and done. I will stick with my Westminster, Squadron Leader, and FMOOT for now. But, try it for yourself. The other reviewer did not think it was harsh at all. This one is just not for me! Doc
ratingratingratingratingrating
SUPERB Blend!!
Daniel Billings (Asheville, NC) 4/27/2009 12:48 AM
I started smoking a pipe after the transition of Dunhill tobaccos from Murray's to Orlik, so I cannot compare this blend to what 965 was before 2005 when that switch happened. However, being a fan of English blends, I can compare this to Orlik's 965 and also other blends that I have smoked as well. When I first loaded my pipe with this blend, I first noted the ease with I was able to do so. Many English blends I have tried tend to need a little bit of extra care while packing, but in the case of Beck's Ol' Limey Bastard it simply melts into the pipe perfectly. Then of course comes the light, which is just as easy as packing. But we don't want to know so much about how easy it packs or how easy it is to light as much as we want to know how it smokes... and the basic fact is that it smokes wonderfully! As I said, I cannot compare this to pre-Orlik 965, but compared to the most recent incantation of 965 Beck's Ol' Limey Bastard has a fuller flavor without the harshness that 965 had. It is rich with Latakia, but balancing it out is a wonderful blend of both red and yellow Virginias with a hint of unflavored Cavendish. Simply put, it is truly a remarkable blend that is thoroughly enjoyable from the first light all the way down to the last puff.
page1